War Log: Day One

2014.11.04.05.41.25
o/
As I mentioned in the last post, Kaede Industries received its first wardec this past Sunday, with hostilities beginning on Monday. This post is the first in a series talking about how the war played out. Hint: it went well. On a related note, we have essentially quadrupled in membership since the war began. That’s pretty good for indy corp recruitment during war time. So, here’s how it all began…

In the past, I’ve been in indy corps who did not respond well to wardecs at all. Usually the response was some variation of “everybody dock up; they’ll get bored and go away”. Invariably, this has had a negative impact on the corp. People get frustrated when they can’t play, especially if their leadership encourages them to hide or disengage or go play on an alt.

I resolved that the “dock up until they leave us alone” approach to wars was not going to be our strategy. Unfortunately, when we got wardecced, the corp consisted of me and two other people. The war began literally the day before our recruitment drive started. Our aggressors were not particularly intimidating, an 11-man corp with an unimpressive killboard. However, that was enough trouble to cause us problems, because at the time, we just didn’t have the manpower for an effective response.

Did Someone Say Diplomacy?

So, what to do? Look for allies. My first go-to was a local FW contact, but that didn’t work out because that contact and our aggressors were both Gallente militia. The CEO of one of the more established local industrial corps in the area offered some excellent advice on war preparations, as well as the use of a shield rep fleet if our POS got reinforced, for which I was most appreciative.

But what I really needed at the time was fighters. I needed some dedicated pvp’ers who were willing to throw down on our behalf. Enter Panic. Their alliance leader was very helpful, and they agreed to come in as a war ally. Panic hatted up and rolled into our home system with a small (but more than adequate) fleet. Essentially they brought guns to a knife fight.

On Monday, the first shots of the war were fired while I was out-of-game at work. Lone war targets made runs against our POS on three separate occasions as the war started. The night before the war began, our aggressors’ CEO had scouted the POS. At the time it was in its industrial setup.

A Lonely Tower

After they scouted the POS and had logged off, I went to work reconfiguring it for wartime. Now, originally, when I didn’t know yet if we were going to have war help, I was just going to pull the POS down and take the hit on lost BP research time. From what I gather, the general wisdom is that it’s pointless to try to defend a small tower.
2014.11.04.05.51.28
But, once Panic was on-board as a war ally, I decided to take the risk of leaving it up. I pulled down all the other industry arrays besides the research lab and pulled out the most expensive BP that was in there, just in case. The powergrid on a small tower made fitting for offense problematic, so I decided to go the defensive route. My plan was to make the POS as much a pain to assault as possible, and slow down a bash, to maximize the chances of my war allies having time to interfere with them.

I fit the POS with 4 ECM batteries, 4 sensor dampening batteries, 4 warp scrambling batteries, and EM and Explosive shield hardening arrays. In their attempts on the first day of the war, the most they managed to do before Panic rolled into system with a T3 strategic cruiser fleet was incapacitate a single warp scrambling battery.

By the time I got home from work on Monday and logged in, our war targets had already either bugged out or docked up. I was pleased that they got more than they bargained for, though I was disappointed for Panic that our war targets didn’t engage. I was hoping they could get some good fights in return for helping us out.

Shh, We’re Hunting Wabbits

However, not too long after I got on, the CEO of the aggressing corp undocked from our HQ in a frigate and started moving around. Still only hours into the war, the bulk of Panic’s fleet was still lurking in-system and the chase began. What followed for the rest of the night was a series of chases, interrupted by periods of our war target docking up and logging long enough for Panic fleet members to wander off station looking for PVP fights.

Then he’d log back in, undock and the chase would begin again. I was on comms with Panic and listened in to their various between-chase adventures looking for other fights. It was a pretty interesting experience for me being on comms with dedicated pvp’ers. I’m not opposed to pvp, but my game experience lies mostly in industry/trade/hauling, so a lot of pvp aspects are new to me. I won an old corp’s internal 1v1 frigate tournament once, but that’s about the extent of my experience.

So, it was intriguing to hear these experienced pvp guys scanning down people and jumping into crazy situations and generally having zero fucks to give as they looked for any kind of engagement while our war target was inactive in between doing his jumping around all over the region and being hounded by Panic.
2014.11.04.05.42.52
For my part, I did a little bit of scouting when our war target was on the move in my area. However, most of my time was spent picking up new POS arrays and buying/fitting an Exequror to rep up my incapacitated warp scram battery. Before the war started, I had prepared a shield rep Osprey for the POS shields, but I had neglected to prepare an armor repper.

I was also planning out a new POS configuration, to fit a gun onto it, at the request of our war ally. Late that night, after it looked like our war targets had gone offline for the night, I hauled back the new POS components and set the POS up with four warp scrams and a medium gun battery, which was all the POS PG could handle.

Late Night Antics

That one warp scram was still offline, so after hauling the old POS arrays back to HQ, I fit up my shiny new Exequror and set out to rep it up. At that point, the warp scram battery was at 100% shield, 0% armor, and 98% structure. So I show up in my Exequror, thinking “hey I’ll rep this up before bed”. Ha. I managed to rep it up to 15% armor before it was bedtime. But I hadn’t seen any war targets online in a while, and I didn’t have expensive implants in my head, so I figured I’d chance doing something crazy.
2014.11.04.05.49.04
I went to bed and left my cap stable Exequror in space repping the battery. It worked out. I woke up in the middle of the night and went and checked on it. 100% armor. But I didn’t have any remote hull reppers to get the structure repaired. At this point, it was less than an hour until servers went down for the Phoebe patch, system messages about it were already popping up.

Earlier that night, a corp member had scouted out a HS>HS wormhole leading from a system one jump from our HQ to a system 5 jumps from Jita. So I took advantage of that to make a quick run to Jita for remote hull repairers and some other assorted things. I got back to HQ before server shutdown and called it a day.

All in all, it was a pretty successful start to the war.

Addendum

I was planning a couple more posts about what happened in this war. The war wasn’t particularly exciting in terms of pvp. There weren’t any kills in the war. There was a lot of interesting stuff that happened during and despite of the war, which I was going to focus on. But now, we have a much more interesting war on the horizon, and I’m going to wait on doing more war log posts for that instead.

Our first war ended with our aggressor’s surrender.
o7

One thought on “War Log: Day One

  1. Pingback: [Fitting] Exequror | Chasing the Black

Leave a Reply

