[Fitting] Occator

o/
Hello, capsuleers. This weekend I finished training Gallente Industrial V, which was my final hurdle to climbing into a transport ship. I decided to go ahead with Gallente Industrial V over say Caldari Industrial V because I was primarily shooting for the Viator BR (a fitting post for which is next up). I’m not sure the Occator would have been my first choice for a DST, but it’s what I can currently fly, so I bought one, and here’s my fit.


Disclaimer: When I post fits, I am not making any claim that it’s the best fit around. I don’t build fits using the most obscure, best-in-class faction or deadspace mods to get the best min/max stats possible. I build fits with, at most, Tech 2 modules (excepting special cases). Fits I post are fits I fly (or ones I’m testing). If I can’t use a particular T2 version of an item and won’t be skilling into it soon, I won’t include it in the fit.

Instead, I’ll build the fit with the T1 version. I don’t automatically pick Meta 4 items for the fit. I can make most T1 items, so for a fit I’m going to fly, using the T1 is the easiest and most economical choice. That being said, if I can’t get the fit to work in terms of PG/CPU with T1, or I’m not satisfied with the base performance of the T1 version, then I replace it with an appropriate Meta item.

Feel free to look at a fit and upgrade the individual parts to the best version you have the skills and isk to use.


(See comments for additional fits)

Armor Tank MWD/Cloak

So, initially, I planned to armor tank my Occator to take best advantage of its traits, even though my armor skills are pretty crappy. I decided early on that it just didn’t make sense to do anything other than a MWD/Cloak trick fit. So, those were my first two choices, T2 cloak and Meta 3 10MN MWD (Meta version for the lower capacitor hit).

From there I started with the lows. First choice was an armor plate for some additional buffer. I chose the Meta 4 version of an 800mm plate to get the maximum armor bonus from it that I could. From there, I added an EALM for additional buffer, and I added an EANM for additional across-the-board resists. An Explosive and an EM armor hardener helped fill the resist holes. As a Gallente ship, the Occator has high structure hitpoints. It made the most sense to take advantage of that with a T2 DCU; and a little extra to armor resists doesn’t hurt.

From there, I had two mids to fill. I chose an ECM burst for emergencies, and the Meta 4 version for the better range and jam strength. I used a T2 cap recharger to give myself some breathing room if I’m in a bad situation and need to be running two hardeners, an ECM burst, and the MWD at the same time.

For the rigs, I focused on improving the armor tank with an additional plug to the explosive resist hole and a trimark for the additional hp.

[Occator, Armor Tank MWD-Cloak]

Occator - Armor Tank MWD/Cloak

Occator – Armor Tank MWD/Cloak

800mm Reinforced Rolled Tungsten Plates I
Energized Armor Layering Membrane I
Armor Explosive Hardener I
Energized Adaptive Nano Membrane I
Armor EM Hardener I
Damage Control II

Experimental 10MN Microwarpdrive I
Cap Recharger II
‘Cetus’ ECM Shockwave I

Improved Cloaking Device II
[empty high slot]

Medium Anti-Explosive Pump I
Medium Trimark Armor Pump I

Test Flight Results:
This fit works, kinda. With the tank focus, the ehp is ok, and will only get better as I skill further into Transport Ships and armor skills (enabling use of T2 versions of the armor mods). But, the fat bottom of the Occator (plus the added mass of the 800mm plate) means that this fit has trouble executing the MWD/Cloak trick. It mostly works, but there’s an additional 1-2 seconds after the MWD cycle ends and the cloak drops before warp engages. Which is…not particularly good.

So, how to fix that while still using this fit? On my end, I still have some skills I could train into to improve my ship’s agility, which would help. As far as the fit goes, you could drop one of the tank mods for an inertia stabilizer for max agility gain without cutting into ehp.

Final Verdict: Needs improvement. This was a concept armor tank fit. I personally have no plans to use this particular fit at this time.

Stabilized MWD/Cloak

Again, I made the decision that any DST I fly is going to be fit to perform the MWD/Cloak trick, so this fit begins with the same T2 cloak and Meta 3 10MN MWD as above. I built this fit with a focus on being hard to catch, as opposed to being particularly tanky.

So, for the six low slots, four are geared towards escaping trouble and two are used for a basic tank. First off, two T2 istabs ensure that the fat-bottomed Occator can get its butt in gear and execute the MWD/Cloak trick flawlessly. Two warp core stabs give this fit a total of +4 warp strength when combined with its +2 trait bonus. This means that a minimum of three tackle mods (or an infini-point HIC; EDIT: or two tackle mods if one’s a faction -3 point) are required to lock this ship down. For the tank, this fit uses a T2 reinforced bulkhead and a T2 DCU.

In the mids, in addition to the MWD we have a Meta 3 10MN Afterburner. If this ship needs to crash the gate, it’s most likely going to have scrams disrupting the MWD. Against any halfway serious camp, I don’t have high hopes that the low tank would survive even an AB-assisted burn back to the gate if the ship is webbed up. A Meta 4 ECM burst rounds out the mids. It’s possible that the burst could disrupt a webber long enough for the overheated AB to let the ship crash the gate. (EDIT: using the burst would give a flag that would prevent gate jump, see comments)

This fit has room for a core probe launcher to join the T2 cloak. For both rigs, this fit uses transverse bulkheads. Two Medium Transverse Bulkhead I’s and the Reinforced Bulkheads II, with the Damage Control Unit II, gives this ship a decent enough tank for how few slots are devoted to it.

[Occator, Stabilized MWD-Cloak]

Occator - Stabilized MWD/Cloak

Occator – Stabilized MWD/Cloak

Inertia Stabilizers II
Inertia Stabilizers II
Warp Core Stabilizer I
Warp Core Stabilizer I
Reinforced Bulkheads II
Damage Control II

Experimental 10MN Microwarpdrive I
Experimental 10MN Afterburner I
‘Cetus’ ECM Shockwave I

Improved Cloaking Device II
Core Probe Launcher I, Core Scanner Probe I

Medium Transverse Bulkhead I
Medium Transverse Bulkhead I

Test Flight Results:
This fit performed very well using the MWD/Cloak trick. As soon as the MWD finishes its cycle and the cloak drops, its instantly warping off with no delay. This is the single greatest key to its being able to survive camps. The two T2 istabs give the ship the agility boost needed to perform the cloak trick flawlessly.

I’ve heard lots of people say nanos are better than istabs, period. I say it depends on the situation. In this case, I’m using structure to tank; the structure penalty of nanos is something I don’t want. Yes, the istabs give a signature bloom, which is bad because it makes it easier to instant-lock the ship, which should be the only way this ship would be taken down. On the other hand, if a camp is set up for instant locking, I don’t think the relatively small signature bump is going to be the deciding factor in success vs. failure. Even with the slightly higher signature, there’s always the +4 to warp core strength to contend with.

One thing I thought about trying was dropping down to 1 T2 istab, or even dropping both, to be replaced by T2 reinforced bulkheads. And then drop in some Medium Polycarbon Engine Housing I rigs to get the functionality of nanos but with an armor penalty instead of a structure penalty. You’d take a small ehp hit but wouldn’t be working against your chosen tank, in that case. Unfortunately, you run into CPU issues when you start trying to add in more CPU-heavy reinforced bulkheads. Maybe if you had a +5% CPU implant, you could get more creative.

Final Verdict: Strong. Flawless MWD/Cloak trick operation with high warp core strength make this a tough ship to catch. For the time being, this will be my go-to Occator fit.
o7

7 thoughts on “[Fitting] Occator

  1. blackbenetavo Post author

    [Occator, Stabilized MWD-Cloak – no tank, all mobility]
    Inertia Stabilizers II
    Inertia Stabilizers II
    Warp Core Stabilizer I
    Warp Core Stabilizer I
    Warp Core Stabilizer I
    Warp Core Stabilizer I

    Experimental 10MN Microwarpdrive I
    Medium Micro Jump Drive
    Cap Recharger II

    Improved Cloaking Device II
    Core Probe Launcher I, Core Scanner Probe I

    Medium Low Friction Nozzle Joints I
    Medium Low Friction Nozzle Joints I

    With the “Stabilized MWD/Cloak” fit that I’ve been running on my Occator, I’ve noticed a problem. When the timing is just right, yes it will immediately warp out from cloak. But I’ve noticed that at least half the time, that’s not the case, and it sits there for a second while it finishes running up to speed. I think this is probably mostly a lag issue throwing off the tight timing needed.

    Previously, I was trying to get as much of the best of both worlds as possible, tank and agility. This fit does away with the notion that if I’m caught by a camp, I can tank my way into an escape. This fit relies solely on being great at escaping trouble.

    +6 warp strength… you might think of this as overkill, but wouldn’t you just hate it if you were trying to tackle this ship? I threw on a Medium Micro Jump Drive for utility and a cap recharger to round out the mids. Switched out the rigs for better agility.

    Hopefully, this fit will be on grid as short a time as possible, and be immune to all but the most overwhelming tackle. Taken together, that sounds pretty safe.

    Like

    Reply
  2. blackbenetavo Post author

    [Occator, Stabilized MWD-Cloak] (adjusted)
    Inertia Stabilizers II
    Inertia Stabilizers II
    Warp Core Stabilizer I
    Warp Core Stabilizer I
    Reinforced Bulkheads II
    Damage Control II

    Experimental 10MN Microwarpdrive I
    Experimental 10MN Afterburner I
    Medium Peroxide Capacitor Power Cell

    Improved Cloaking Device II
    Core Probe Launcher I, Core Scanner Probe I

    Medium Transverse Bulkhead I
    Medium Transverse Bulkhead I

    My skills require a +1% CPU implant for this fit, but with all skills at 5, you end up with 325/325 CPU. The benefit of the cap battery is basically just so that even the largest diameter systems can be jumped in one warp, even after running the MWD. Though technically, there’s also the neut and energy leech reflect as well.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Pingback: A Different Kind of Roam | Chasing the Black

  4. Pingback: Quick Update | Chasing the Black

  5. blackbenetavo Post author

    It was pointed out to me that using the ECM burst would result in a flag that would prevent jumping the gate. The only way to use the burst to escape would be warping to a safe spot after using it. Good point. Forgot about that.

    So if we take the burst off, that leaves us with a mid to fill. There’s PG enough to fit a Large Shield Extender II for additional tank, if you also have a +1% CPU implant. But I don’t really like the idea of tossing on a double tank.

    If you take off the afterburner, you can fit a Medium Micro Jump Drive, but then you’ll definitely never make a hail mary escape crashing the gate. And you’d still have another mid to fill at that point.

    Hmm, requires some more thought. I may do a follow-up addition onto this post or make another Occator fitting post with an adjusted version of the second fit and maybe a new AAR fit as well.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Xavi Bastanold

    Don’t know how good your skills are but you can fit an occator so it has not only armor tank, but maar and an mjd. This along with a t2 cloak. The micro jump drive comes in handy so you can warp to 100km on a gate, see how it looks then jump the remaining gap to jump through the gate. In nullsec this is vital for bubbles, but proves useful elsewhere too. Hardeners(eanm instead of plate) and an maar provide a large tank especially when heated. Remember, dst’s handle overloading modules well. This way, you have your cake and eat it too: large armor tank, effective cloak/mwd trick, and micro jump drive capability. Hard to beat.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

