[Fitting] Here Be Drakes

Drake3_470_t
In my previous post, I talked about how I came to build my very first Drake. Now comes the task of properly fitting it to stomp on some L3 missions. I went with a fairly standard passive shield tank fit, with some slight modifications. I’ll state upfront that I am not a min/max-er. I think it’s perfectly acceptable, sometimes, to trade a little bit of a primary stat for a lot of a secondary stat(s). That being said, I realize this isn’t best-in-class. Life and EVE are, as always, a learning experience. Here we go.

Passive Shield Tanked Mission Drake
[Drake, Passive Shield Tank PvE 1]

Ballistic Control System II
Power Diagnostic System II
Shield Power Relay II
Shield Power Relay II

Large Shield Extender II
Large Shield Extender II
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
Shield Recharger II
Shield Recharger II
10MN Afterburner II

Heavy Missile Launcher I, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher I, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher I, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher I, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher I, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher I, Scourge Heavy Missile
[Empty High slot]

Medium Core Defense Field Purger I
Medium Core Defense Field Purger I
Medium Core Defense Field Purger I

Hornet II x5

Python Fitting Assistant

Python Fitting Assistant – Passive Shield Tank PvE 1

Stats: All Skills V
EHP: 44,649
Shield Regen: 413 hp/sec
Capacitor: Stable at 64.8%
Speed (with AB): 399 m/s
DPS: 272
Volley: 1838

Summary: Pretty traditional. Focusing on kinetic damage for my current missions (plus there’s the trait bonus to kinetic missile damage), so HMLs with Scourge, and T2 Hornets instead of Hobs. Everything is T2 except the launchers (because I can’t use T2 launchers yet) but there’s plenty of room for those instead. T1 launchers instead of meta because I have a huge stock of them already built. Standard shield regen rigs and mods in the lows and mids. I chose to sacrifice some dps for the small across-the-board bump by fitting a Power Diagnostic System instead of a second BCS. Also, I don’t have All 5 skills. The “little bit of everything” aspect of the PDS helps get several key stats into more optimal ranges. Afterburner for a reasonable amount of speed. There’s an empty high slot for a tractor beam or probe launcher. You might be able to get a neut on there with the PDS bump to powergrid.

But then I thought, I wonder if I could get a MWD on this thing. So I tried that too. It was for this fit that I had to have a PDS to squeeze in the powergrid needs of the MWD. And I liked how it affected the fit, so I migrated it over to the AB version. A Tech II Power Diagnostic System gives these bonuses: Shield HP +5%, Shield Recharge +8.5%, Cap +5%, Cap Recharge +8.5%, Powergrid +5%. It makes the fit work better with my skills. I’ll take it.

[Drake, Passive Shield Tank PvE 2]

Ballistic Control System II
Ballistic Control System II
Power Diagnostic System II
Capacitor Power Relay II

Large Shield Extender II
Large Shield Extender II
Adaptive Invulnerability Field II
Shield Recharger II
Shield Recharger II
10MN Microwarpdrive I

Heavy Missile Launcher I, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher I, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher I, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher I, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher I, Scourge Heavy Missile
Heavy Missile Launcher I, Scourge Heavy Missile
[Empty High slot]

Medium Core Defense Field Purger I
Medium Core Defense Field Purger I
Medium Core Defense Field Purger I

Hornet II x5

Python Fitting Assistant - Passive Shield Tank PvE 2

Python Fitting Assistant – Passive Shield Tank PvE 2

Stats: All Skills V
EHP: 44,649
Shield Regen: 239 hp/sec
Capacitor: Stable at 36.3%
Speed (with MWD): 1003 m/s
DPS: 307
Volley: 1997

Summary: For the MWD fit I get my second BCS back for a little bit better dps than the AB fit. Regen takes a pretty significant hit. I’m not sure how well that passive tank would hold up. On the other hand, it’s cap stable with the MWD on, so if you set up your angle of attack right, your transversal might help mitigate some incoming damage. Again, high slot is up to you.

So there be the drakes. Now it’s time to go fly these bad boys and see how they do in the field. I’ll see you out there.

One thought on “[Fitting] Here Be Drakes

  1. Pingback: Never Tell Me the Odds | Chasing the Black

Leave a Reply

